Faculty & Staff

Back to Projects & Research

Florida School Climate Transformation Grant (Florida SCT)

In September 2014, the Bureau of Exceptional Education and Student Services (BEESS) in the Division of Public Schools, Florida Department of Education was awarded a five year collaborative grant from the U.S Department of Health and Human Services and the U.S. Department of Education totaling over $3.3 million (2014-2019). The State Education Agency School Climate Transformation (Florida SCT) grant program focuses on achieving long-term improvements that ensures all students in Florida have access to effective school and community practices evidenced to improve social, emotional, and academic outcomes.  The grant is directed out of the University of South Florida.  Dr. Heather George is the PI and Director and Dr. Don Kincaid serves as Co-PI and Co-Director. 

Florida SCT will expand Florida’s state-wide system of behavioral support by providing training and technical assistance to Local Education Agencies in implementing an evidence-based, multi-tiered behavior framework for improving behavioral outcomes and learning conditions for all students. 

For over 15 years, the State Education Agency has provided funding through IDEA, Part B to the Florida Positive Behavior Support: A Multi-Tiered System of Supports (FLPBS:MTSS) Project, also Co-Directed by Drs. Heather George and Don Kincaid.  Florida SCT will expand the FLPBS Project by training and supporting more new schools across the state and expand training and supports across tiers within already participating schools.  More specifically, the goals of the grant include:

  1. expanding PBS implementation across districts, schools and settings;
  2. increasing fidelity of PBS implementation;
  3. increasing positive behavioral outcomes for students;and
  4. expanding capacity of LEAs to support sustained implementation of PBS.

Florida was one of 12 states awarded the School Climate Transformation Grant at the SEA level.  Florida SCT will significantly impact the behavioral needs of students and educators across the state.  The following five Local Education Agencies also received School Climate Transformation awards at the local level:  Broward, Duval, Hillsborough, Nassau, and Polk.




Faculty & Staff